I just started playing DQIII and I thought it was super fun despite not even entering combat yet. But I had to stop because I don't know what classes I should choose to make a good party. 

I don't want to make a shitty one so I need some advice. Which classes should I choose?

Posted (edited)

What classes do you want to use/what ones are you afraid will make a “shitty team,” if put together? As long as you avoid the Goof-off/Jester/Gadabout class, you should be fine.

And the game recommends right away that, if you aren’t sure on a party, go with a Warrior, Cleric, and Mage. That’s the basic party but it’s a very solid one.

And there’s also Dharma Temple/Alltrades Abbey where characters can change classes once they hit level 20, so you can’t permanently screw yourself over. 

I’m sure whatever you want to use will be fine. I’ve replayed DQ3 many times with all kinds of team combinations, and other than some rough moments against enemies with high defense (mainly the crab and caterpillar monsters) I’ve never had any troubles in the game with whatever silly teams I come up with.

I’m sure @ignasia can give you some really detailed DQ3 info though if you don’t want to just try something, but again, whatever you pick should be fine.

Edited by YangustheLegendaryBandit
  • Like 1

Yep, don't need a Goof Off and if you avoid 3 Clerics, you'll be good!

Posted (edited)

My team consists of:

Roto the honest hero, Lauren the honest mage, Lothar the eager warrior, and Gwaelin the alert cleric.

Edited by DragonQuest2IsGood

What version are you playing?

NES, SFC / GBC, or Mobile / Switch?  Yes, there is a slight difference in what I would recommend.  NES vs remakes is a total changeup due to stat growth and equipment.  SFC/GBC vs Mobile/Switch is based on equipment options.

The Fighter has a good chance for critical hits which is important for defeating Liquid Metal Slimes.

I've got the basic Lineup.