Sign in to follow this  
AbyssDiver

Dragon Quest VIII - Unused Characters?

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here (and the reason I came here, actually). I'd like to have your help in figuring something out. A TCRF user by the name of punk7890 has discovered a way to swap Trode with almost any model in Tryan Gully. To give you a better understanding, if you unpack the game's .DAT archive, you'll find a chara folder, which contains all non-event models, including the monsters and the NPC's. I was testing various models which can be swapped and found a bunch of interesting characters. I'll include the pictures and their model names below. Apologies for the black/white bars in some of the screenshots. I took them from PCSX2.

Spoiler

p001a.chr(looks similar to a nun in some of the churches):
ifzskm.PNG
p002a.chr:
lzursc.PNG
p003a.chr(appears to be a low-poly thug):

rsvxhx.PNG

p004a.chr:
xcgbgn.PNG

p005a.chr:
qiaebi.PNG

p006a.chr:

qgfsjk.PNG

p007a.chr:
nxwcjt.PNG

p008a.chr:
vqdskb.PNG

p009a.chr:
nqdtgr.PNG

While I remember most of the NPC's from DQ8, I'm not sure if those are used anywhere in the game. They might be from the previous installments, but I don't know any of them except for Torneko and Ragnar cameos, which can be found in the Monster Arena. Could you help me figure it out?

Edited by AbyssDiver

Welcome to the forum! (Don't forget to give yourself a proper intro).

These all seem to be early-build models that were replaced later in development, especially considering those thug and old man sprites.

Pretty much what Jaybird said.

Thanks for helping. I have but one more question to ask. The second archive, which contains music and voice lines, has these battle lines for Jessica. They can be found in btl folder. She makes lewd puns about breasts such as "Booby trap!". I'm pretty sure these were cut as well, as a T-rated game would probably not allow that. You can listen to them directly.

Edited by AbyssDiver