Sign in to follow this  
Don'tSellTheFlameSword

Japanese for DQ XI

Hey I've decided that I can't wait for XI to get localized and was wondering if anyone else felt similarly? I think that DQ might be reasonable to attempt playing untranslated because the dialogue will likely be fan translated and so much is carried over between sequels. Is anyone else thinking of doing this? Have you guys found any resources in the past that would make this easier? If there's any interest, I might try to start compiling Japanese translations of things we can count on being in XI.

I played through most of VII 3DS in Japanese, and also played X in Japanese. Didn't get anywhere near completing X, I'd like to play more sometime!

I've also played other games in Japanese besides DQ; although I do know a slight bit of Japanese, it's nowhere near enough to be able to read full sentences and whatnot; I'm still a beginner! So, what I usually do is find a guide (a PS1 version guide worked for VII, and a Google Translated Japanese guide was passable for X), grab my phone, and use the Google Translate app. Google Translate definitely isn't perfect, but it has a picture mode where you can take a picture, and have the text translated. Using this lets you get a basic understanding of what's going on, despite it not being perfect (a baby cat got taken from a girl named Somya in X; this was told to me as "Demon baby stuff of Somya picked up cat") Thankfully, games have visuals to go along with the text, so you can usually figure it out with the visuals and translation together.

So yes! It's definitely possible to play games in Japanese, just be prepared for a bit of a harder time. Like I said, I usually use a guide and the Google Translate app, though a guide probably won't be available for XI right off the bat, so it'll likely be even more difficult.

Edited by gooieooie
  • Upvote 1