What Game got you into gaming

When I started playing video games, I liked it but I didn't really realize how great games can be. When I was like 6 I would buy whatever game at the store without really thinking about it, this lead to me regrettably buying a lot of shovelware and licensed games, I enjoyed Mario but outside of that I had never really played a non licensed game, however that all changed when I bought this little game called Pokemon, before I bought that game I hadn't played a game in a year, I played it through the whole night and day until I beat it, really if it wasn't for that game I don't think I'd be the gamer I am today, that was the first time I realized just how great a game could be, through Pokemon I became a big Nintendo fan which eventually led me to discover Zelda, which led me to discover Dragon Quest, which led me to discover Final Fantasy, which well you get the point.

So do any of you have a game like that, that got you really into video games, or were you always a huge game fan from day one.

My parents had an Atari that they borrowed from my aunt, it was a 2600 and they had Frogger. I loved playing Frogger. It introduced me to gaming and I played the Atari for several years in the 80s until my parents got an NES. That same aunt bought me a copy of Final Fantasy, but I was too young to really understand a complex RPG like that at the time, so my dad played it as I watched him. That was what really got me into video games. 

Original Pong home console, good times ;)

• Upvote 1