Sign in to follow this  
MoonRider

Overplay servers finally useless?

I noticed today that Overplay have removed the only japanese server that still worked (Server Tokyo 4) for using DQX service outside of Japan. What are other people on this forum who use that service doing now? I'm not sure where to go from here, still wanting to play the game and all.

• Upvote 1

When I talked to them they said it was blocked upstream or something, but yeah they don't have a fix for that any time soon. You can get a refund if you talk to them about it.

I switched to IPVanish. I have been using them for a few months now and ot has been much more reliable than Overplay ever was anyway.

^I'm very interested in IPVanish Mimas, how hard are they to set up? Even though Overplay's service was horrible, I really appreciated the dd-wrt app they had for easy "on/off" VPN access for the whole router.

Edited by MoonRider

Wait, so...  This means SE is actively targeting VPN players, right?  If Overplay's server was specifically banned by SE?

OVP's tokyo servers are in linode and amazon EC2 farms... the gold farmers were probably using the same services and abused it enough to get the whole things blocked.

I need to figure something out :/

SoftEther works pretty well and since there are varying servers it should help out with the IP bans that may be occurring. Generally, it isn't too bad. Also, the latency I get from the states for IPVanish was pretty significant, so I opted out of using their services. However, that's just my personal experience. Mimas might have much better results. 

Edited by Ashes

Well I guess as is, I'm not going to be able to play until I can get a new computer and run it from there, as the one I have now doesn't work with the whole making a hotspot into your own seperate VPN connection-thing. At least I can look forward to the faster frame rates and for the most part lack of disconnects compared to the Wii version. :\