Sign in to follow this  
Megalosaro

The Thread for People Who Hate Their Jobs

I hate my job.

I work for a company that is contracted out by the cruise lines to provide ground transportation.  I have six years experience in this field and I am the supervisor of bus transportation.  It's a very thankless job.  If things go smoothly, you spend about 1 minute with a guest.  If things don't go smoothly, you spend an hour or more getting $#!&@ed at them.  But you can't really get mad at the guests because it usually is your fault they're waiting so long. 

Then you have the longshoreman.  These guys are real $#!& piece scumbags.  Their union is pretty much the hegemonic power at the pier, which is a god damn shame because they're thugs through and through.  Over the years, I've seen them do all sorts of criminal things.  Sexually harass female guests, ship crew and female longshoremen.  Imply to guests that they'll steal their luggage if they're not tipped properly.  Brag about dealing drugs on the side.  Bare in mind, these dudes get like 50 dollars an hour, plus make on average about 200 dollars in tips a day so the fact they're dealing drugs on the side when they're not really hurting for cash shows how greedy these guys are.  You can't do anything about it either.  If you "snitch" on a longshoreman, they retaliate by refusing to pick up bus luggage until the very last possible minute.

Then there are the elements.  I am perpetually sunburned.  I've tried using sunblock but it doesn't help.  Then you are also constantly surrounded by bus fumes as hell.  I'm fairly certain that the combination of the two is what has led to my premature balding.

So yeah, it's a job that can't be good for my health and is incredibly thankless.  I'd quit but I get paid fairly well.  I'm waiting to take a certificate program for logistics, but that's a ways off.