Sign in to follow this  
SOuimet

Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 Pro translation

Hello,

New guy here (please don't be too harsh with comments).

I'm a programmer with some time and an interest in this game for now.

I'm posting the news here first, since I got most of my english names here.

Since it's still unsure if the english translation is coming or not, and since I wanted to play now, I started my own translation of the game.

Also, since I don't understand japanese, my translations without a valid source are from google, so they're not perfect...

For now, all monsters names are done.

The only thing left to do would be to be able to create a patch based on my modifs, and validate monsters name.

After that, I'll try to find some source to translate the skills.

Is there some interest for this project.

Here's a random screenshot:

sampled.png

Edited by SOuimet
  • Upvote 2

Oh hell yeah, sign me up as interested =)

Looking forward to seeing a ton of English in this one.

Yeah, I'm willing to help too.

While you wait I can help better translate the already-translated lines.

=p

First off, I managed to translate all library monsters without much problems.

However, with a bit more playing (after translating all), I noticed that those not in library have their names removed.

Technically, this means that the approx 1400 character buffer I thought I had to translate between japanese and english version is not bug free.

In practice, this means that unless I remove a lot of characters in the names, there will not be any names for the "non-library" monsters.

In the game data, the last monster in the library is the Schleiman Tank.

All thoses after that wont have names (like the Wiggly and Missing lynx that are unbeatable in the beginning for instance, not those that are recruitable).

The last string for the monsters to translate is the "Stronger" and "Strongest".

For now, my idea would be to put a single ? for those monsters, and I think I could fit it in.