Jump to content


Photo

Emulator for running older PC games on Windows 7?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Wes

  • Member
  • Monster Masher

  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Interests:video games, music
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 24 September 2010 - 11:32 AM

The games I want to play are Castle of the Winds, Blades of Exile, and One Must Fall 2097. I think the first two are 16bit (they played on my 3.1 and XP), and OMF runs in DOS.
I've been having endless trouble with installing XP on top of 7, or I would just do that.
  • 0
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Spotslime tries to call for help, but not enough MP!
Wesley manages to steal a lump of horse manure!
Cannibox drops a treasure chest!



http://www.helpineed...ed/purpose.html


Posted Image
"Don't try to stop me, Andy. I'm gonna do it this time! Seriously!"

#2 King Zenith

  • Moderators
  • Celebrated Celestrian

  • 7,749 posts
  • DQM:J2 FC:3138-9033-8391
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, Canada
  • Tag City:Calgary
  • Tag State:Alberta
  • Tag Zip:T2P0T5
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 24 September 2010 - 11:44 AM

The games I want to play are Castle of the Winds, Blades of Exile, and One Must Fall 2097. I think the first two are 16bit (they played on my 3.1 and XP), and OMF runs in DOS.
I've been having endless trouble with installing XP on top of 7, or I would just do that.


What emulator(s) have you tried?

I might suggest checking out JPC-rr (Java PC emulator). There are some useful instruction on how to set it up (and where to find it) here.

Definitely works on Vista, but I don't know about Windows 7. It's worth a shot.
  • 0


dqmsl_logo_hdpi.pngDQMW_hdpi.pngfoot_dq1.pngfoot_dq2.pngfoot_dq3.pngicon.png

Jessica_sig.pngTrauminate_IMG-5.gifPuffPuffGirl_sig.png


#3 Wes

  • Member
  • Monster Masher

  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Interests:video games, music
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 24 September 2010 - 11:46 AM


The games I want to play are Castle of the Winds, Blades of Exile, and One Must Fall 2097. I think the first two are 16bit (they played on my 3.1 and XP), and OMF runs in DOS.
I've been having endless trouble with installing XP on top of 7, or I would just do that.


What emulator(s) have you tried?

I might suggest checking out JPC-rr (Java PC emulator). There are some useful instruction on how to set it up (and where to find it) here.

Definitely works on Vista, but I don't know about Windows 7. It's worth a shot.


I've tried DosBox, but I couldn't get it to work. I don't know how to open the games in it, it says that the exe files are not valid when I select them.
I'll try JPC-rr when I get home. *reads some of the document* Image file? It would be nice if they gave you a game that was already formatted properly as an example.

Edited by Wes, 24 September 2010 - 11:51 AM.

  • 0
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Spotslime tries to call for help, but not enough MP!
Wesley manages to steal a lump of horse manure!
Cannibox drops a treasure chest!



http://www.helpineed...ed/purpose.html


Posted Image
"Don't try to stop me, Andy. I'm gonna do it this time! Seriously!"

#4 Botsu the Hero

  • Member
  • Sword Slinger

  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 24 September 2010 - 12:00 PM

I use DosBox and a frontend called DBGL.
  • 0
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Currently playing: Rudra no Hiho (SNES)
Completed DQ games: DQ 1-4 NES; DQ I+II SNES, DQIII SNES, DQV SNES & PS2, DQVI SNES, DQVII PS1, DQVIII PS2, and DQIV & V & VI DS
Looking for: Metallic Monster gallery Goldman and Stoneman (FOUND)

#5 Wes

  • Member
  • Monster Masher

  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Interests:video games, music
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 24 September 2010 - 12:04 PM

I found two of the games I'm trying to run:
http://www.classicdo..._the_Winds.html
http://www.spiderweb...des/winBOE.html

Have you gotten these to work on DosBox? I might just not understand how to run them... I just downloaded a game that it says it supports so I can try to figure it out.
  • 0
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Spotslime tries to call for help, but not enough MP!
Wesley manages to steal a lump of horse manure!
Cannibox drops a treasure chest!



http://www.helpineed...ed/purpose.html


Posted Image
"Don't try to stop me, Andy. I'm gonna do it this time! Seriously!"

#6 Wes

  • Member
  • Monster Masher

  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Interests:video games, music
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 14 December 2010 - 07:42 PM

Ok. I finally figured it out.
I can use DosBox to run old Dos games. I learned a bit about using Dos this semester, so once I learned a few commands I was able to use it.
Apparently, 16 bit Microsoft games won't play on 64 bit Operating Systems. I tried it on XP-32bit, 7-32bit, and 7-64bit. It works in the first two, but not the third.

So, now I dualboot with two versions of Windows 7. One is for general use, and the other is for Legacy games. Luckily, they're both free through a program my college offers to students taking IT classes.
  • 0
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Spotslime tries to call for help, but not enough MP!
Wesley manages to steal a lump of horse manure!
Cannibox drops a treasure chest!



http://www.helpineed...ed/purpose.html


Posted Image
"Don't try to stop me, Andy. I'm gonna do it this time! Seriously!"

#7 Cain

  • Member
  • Metal Master

  • 1,013 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kemptville, Ontario
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 16 December 2010 - 10:14 PM

Ok. I finally figured it out.
I can use DosBox to run old Dos games. I learned a bit about using Dos this semester, so once I learned a few commands I was able to use it.
Apparently, 16 bit Microsoft games won't play on 64 bit Operating Systems. I tried it on XP-32bit, 7-32bit, and 7-64bit. It works in the first two, but not the third.

So, now I dualboot with two versions of Windows 7. One is for general use, and the other is for Legacy games. Luckily, they're both free through a program my college offers to students taking IT classes.


You can also use an XP Virtual Machine in Windows 7 which may work. It's called XP Mode. Since it's DOS games you want to play I don't see why DOSBox wouldn't run in XP Mode. It's much more convenient to fire up a virtual machine then it is to reboot your machine.

http://www.microsoft...c/download.aspx
  • 0
My Team
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Friends & Aliases
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

SaGa 3 NDS Translation Project: http://www.cainsdoma...ii-translation/

#8 Wes

  • Member
  • Monster Masher

  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan
  • Interests:video games, music
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 17 December 2010 - 09:54 AM

You can also use an XP Virtual Machine in Windows 7 which may work. It's called XP Mode. Since it's DOS games you want to play I don't see why DOSBox wouldn't run in XP Mode. It's much more convenient to fire up a virtual machine then it is to reboot your machine.

http://www.microsoft...c/download.aspx


From what I've heard, Windows Virtual PC isn't designed/intended for games.
  • 0
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Spotslime tries to call for help, but not enough MP!
Wesley manages to steal a lump of horse manure!
Cannibox drops a treasure chest!



http://www.helpineed...ed/purpose.html


Posted Image
"Don't try to stop me, Andy. I'm gonna do it this time! Seriously!"

#9 Cain

  • Member
  • Metal Master

  • 1,013 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kemptville, Ontario
  • Awards:Awards Image

Posted 18 December 2010 - 02:07 PM



You can also use an XP Virtual Machine in Windows 7 which may work. It's called XP Mode. Since it's DOS games you want to play I don't see why DOSBox wouldn't run in XP Mode. It's much more convenient to fire up a virtual machine then it is to reboot your machine.

http://www.microsoft...c/download.aspx


From what I've heard, Windows Virtual PC isn't designed/intended for games.


It's not, but by games I would imagine they mean DirectX games. I'd give it a shot and see if it works if you have the time. You can also try out a real virtual machine like VirtualBox but you'll need a real XP iso and key. Alternatively you could probably install Windows 98 on it, or maybe even a real DOS OS and see if it works.

http://www.virtualbox.org/
  • 0
My Team
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Friends & Aliases
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

SaGa 3 NDS Translation Project: http://www.cainsdoma...ii-translation/




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users